Back to top

Academic Partners

The Institute of Transportation Studies is a research organization that comprises 35 faculty members from nine UC Berkeley academic departments or schools. Approximately 50 additional researchers are associated with the Institute and its various research centers or projects. ITS faculty members Joan Walker and Alexandre Bayen are both PECASE award recipients. Right: President Obama with the 2010 PECASE class. Official White House photo: Pete Souza


• Civil and Environmental Engineering

• City and Regional Planning

• Energy and Resources Group

• Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

• Industrial Engineering and Operations Research

• Mechanical Engineering


• College of Engineering

• College of Environmental Design

• College of Natural Resources

• Goldman School of Public Policy

• Haas School of Business

• School of Public Health


• Energy Analysis and Environmental Impacts Division

• Energy Storage and Distributed Resources Division


500 Internal Server Error- 澳门皇冠体育-官网登录

Internal Server Error

The server encountered an internal error and was unable to complete your request. Either the server is overloaded or there is an error in the application.

Our faculty have authored papers, articles, and books seminal to the advancement of transportation around the world. Publications over the past 10 years include more than 20 books, 40 book chapters, 300 conference papers, and 700 journal articles.


Faculty have received awards and prizes from professional societies, governments, industry, technology, and academia, including more than 20 “Best Paper” awards.

Just a few of the many distinctions include four Walter L. Huber Civil Engineering Research Prizes (Adib Kanifani, Juan Pestana, Arpad Horvath, and Alexandre Bayen), the Dale Prize for Excellence in Urban Planning (Robert Cervero), the Laudise Prize from the International Society for Industrial Ecology (Horvath), the Transportation Research Board’s Francis X. McKelvey Award (Mark Hansen), the Robert Herman Lifetime Award in Transportation Science from the Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (Carlos Daganzo), and the ASME Dynamic Systems and Controls Division’s Charles Stark Draper Award for Innovative Practice (Steven Shladover) and Henry M. Paynter Outstanding Investigator Award (Roberto Horowitz).